Interview with Jeffery Longmore (Frank’n’Furter in the Rocky Horror Show)

Jeffrey Longmore was the first Frank ‘n’ Furter for the Kenneth More Theatre/Theatre Royal Hanley production of the Rocky Horror Show. Jeffrey was kind enough to answer a few questions about his time in the show and his more recent work in pantomimes and his company Stagecentre.

temp_image_20180404_181826_8e3f7b92-ede9-4f9d-ae51-df6c686ff0b9_1765416767770887718.jpg

How did you land the role of Frank ‘N’ Furter and were you offered any other roles in the show before this?

I was working at Oldham Coliseum as a part of the regular acting company and the Artistic Director was looking for a musical. I suggested Rocky Horror as I had seen it at the Kings Rd Theatre with Tim Curry and was knocked out by it. He applied for the rights and amazingly he got them. So that was how I came to play Frank and I wax the first person to Play it outside of London, it was the regional premiere. Vivyan Ellacott then asked me to play it at the Kenneth More for 2 weeks then we did it there again which then came to Theatre Royal Hanley, and the rest is history.

temp_image_20180404_181851_c1ef9a1e-80c4-4108-9dbd-920e0da06696_1012085828-11437562706.jpg

What did you enjoy most about the Frank ‘N’ Furter role?

Frank was a terrific part to play. He was so strong and dynamic and enigmatic, it felt really powerful to play. Also you had the opportunity to really interact with the audience. It was tremendous and a joy to perform.

Looking back did you and fellow cast members have any idea how popular the show would become?

I never thought the show would become so popular, and I don’t think the rest of the cast did. We had lots of followers who came to every venue on the tours.

Did you ever think that the audience reaction and participation would be as dramatic as it was and how did you deal with that as an actor?

The audience reaction was overwhelming. It grew and grew,to the point where I thought the audience were taking over. When I left the tour in Bath I had 2 bouncers with me when I made my first entrance as Frank through the auditorium so they could protect me from being grabbed by the audience. I found it hard work to top the audience. I was invited to the 40th Anniversary performance at Manchester Palace and I was so glad I wasn’t performing because the audience reactions were nonstop and I though they spoiled the show as a result of the involvement.

Other than Hanley of course, what was your favourite tour venue and why?

I loved playing Hanley, and as I came from Stoke it became a very special place. My other favourite venue was Wolverhampton Grand. Packed out all week but on the first night the front rows were full of men who were all sitting with tartan blankets covering them. At the end of the show they threw off the blankets to reveal their fishnets and heels and performed a high kicking routine all in unison. Brilliant.

In more recent years you have been a very successful panto dame. What is it about being a dame that attracts you to the role? How long does it take on average to ‘dame up’ for a show?

Yes Panto Dame has been a big part of my career. I finished panto recently at the Charge Theatre in Preston doing Widow Twankey. Again playing Dame is like playing Frank. You are in control, you can ad lib and you have a fantastic array of frocks. It takes me 10 mins to get ready.

temp_image_20180404_181816_628158f5-bf08-4964-8267-e2e4940749b2_5983402762056300437.jpg

Which pantomimes have you enjoyed the most and why?

I always like Aladdin, I enjoy most Pantos, not so keen on Sleeping Beauty or Beauty and the Beast but my all time favourite is Mother Goose but this is rarely performed these days.

You now run Stagecentre whereby you take theatre to schools. How has this built up over the years and what has been your proudest achievement to date?

My company is called Stagecentre, where I do something called Play in a Day, which is exactly what it says. I have other actors who work for me, and it has become more popular over the years. I take great pride from the reaction I get from the children and teachers, I feel it’s a great achievement. I still work as an actor, recently been in Coronation Street for the 4th time, and also do role playing for Manchester university with medical students.

temp_image_20180404_181910_11060633-c70d-461e-921e-45f9b5b863f9_9912661111897472.jpg

temp_image_20180404_181728_4e85b4f9-d82c-46c9-aed8-4710fd4cb7ad_8962614871883448611.jpg

Author: The Rock 'N' Roll Oatcake

A keen reader and lover of music plus of course my lifelong support of the mighty Potters, Stoke City! Enjoy running and fundraising.

Leave a comment